Report of the Commission on Ministry for 2024

Dear Bishop LaBelle, and Clergy and Delegates to the 113th Convention of the Diocese of Olympia,

Over the last year, the Commission on Ministry has continued minor edits to the Vocations Manual and worked to get it approved for official publication. In addition, we have had two sub-committees working on two projects. The first is drafting a sample Mutual Discernment Group curriculum that can be used or adapted in local parishes that do not currently have a regular or ongoing Discernment ministry. We anticipate this work to be completed and published by the end of the year.

The second sub-committee has been working to overhaul the Postulancy Retreat format with the goal of developing a pattern of prayer, fellowship, and interviews more conducive to the work of discerning together with the applicants. These changes will go into effect at the 2024 postulancy retreat in November.

One more sub-committee will be formed to complete a final project for 2024. Last year we added a 6th Expectation for Ordained Leaders on Anti-Racism, and asked several Phase II Committees to beta test the module associated with that Expectation. Based on feedback from those groups, we will be rewriting that module.

Our goals for 2025 will include evaluation of the timeline for Phase I and Phase II; working with Bishop LaBelle to align the Commission's work with his vision for discernment in our diocese; and developing more pathways of support for clergy leaders and local parishes in discerning baptismal vocation.

Significant Events and Engagements

Phillip Lienau, Theresa L. Newell, Lisa Bozarth Ozaeta, Martin William Pommerenke, III, Myra Ryneheart Corcorran, and Robert Gary Stevens were ordained to the Transitional Diaconate on December 9, 2023. They were ordained to the Priesthood on June 15, 2024.

Anna Lynn was ordained to the Diaconate on September 28, 2024.

We continue to walk with the following Postulants and Candidates Postulants (Diaconate): Nathan Clark, Sue Mings

Postulants (Priesthood): Vincent Booth, Katherine Bryant Ingman, Tina Frances Mutungu, Elizabeth Holland, Gabriel Oaks, and Emily Meeks

Candidates (Priesthood): Adam Conley, Karla Koon, Lynne Markova, Kelly Moody, McKenzie Roberson, Lia Shimada, and James Wyatt

<u>Commission on Ministry Members include:</u> The Rev. Nat Johnson (Chair), Roberta Newell, The Rev. Pat Grodt, Patricia McGuire, Michael Perera, The Rev. Jennifer Daugherty, The Rev. Scott Deasy, Tina Polf, and Carole Loudenback (Standing Committee Liaison).

Respectfully submitted,

The Rev. Nat Johnson
Chair, Commission on Ministry